Yoga and wellness


Revitalizing your chakras – Sun Salutations

Surya Namaskars Vitalize one’s Chakras

How many rounds do you do?

Oh! and as many people asked, what is the best time to do Surya Namaskars?
Well, the best time is at Dawn when the Sun rises, but that doesn’t mean that you cannot do it in the evenings.

Start at a suitable time, get your body going, and then move to a morning time.. Howzat!

A lot of people have posted to write something about steps and collective information here 🙂
I found some useful information on the web, which I am consolidating here:

Surya Namaskara (IPA: [su:rjɐ nɐmɐskɐ:rɐ]; Sanskrit: सूर्य नमस्कार; IAST: Sūrya Namaskāra) also known in English as Sun Salutation (lit. “salute to the sun”) is a common sequence of asanas. Its origins lie in a worship of Surya, the Hindu solar deity. This sequence of movements and asanas can be practised on varying levels of awareness, ranging from that of physical exercise in various styles, to a complete sadhana which incorporates asana, pranayama, mantra and chakra meditation. It is often the beginning vinyasa within a longer yoga series. Sūrya Namaskāra may also refer to other styles of “Salutations to the Sun”.

Source: Wiki

Here is a video to demonstrate Surya Namaskar’s:

 The Breath cycle is important during each asana in Surya Namaskar

Asana Breath Images
1 Pranamasana exhale 1Pranamasana.JPG
2 Hasta Uttanasana inhale 2Urdva Hastasana.JPG
3 Hastapaadasana exhale 3Uttanasana.JPG
4 Aekpaadprasarnaasana (one foot back, lift head, hands often on earth ) inhale 4godhapitham (l‘iguane).JPG
5 Adho Mukha Svanasana exhale 5adho mukha shvanasana.JPG
6 Ashtanga Namaskara suspend 6Ashtanga Namaskara.JPG
7 Bhujangasana inhale 7urdhva mukha shvanasana.JPG
8 Adho Mukha Svanasana exhale 5adho mukha shvanasana.JPG
9 Ashwa Sanchalanasana (opposite foot forward from 4, hands often on earth ) inhale 4godhapitham (l‘iguane).JPG
10 Uttanasana exhale 3Uttanasana.JPG
11 Hasta Uttanasana inhale 2Urdva Hastasana.JPG
12 Pranamasana exhale 1Pranamasana.JPG

Balancing of Each Chakra has an immediate and direct effect on the concerned area in our lives.
More coming on them – Stay tuned!
Meanwhile, enjoy doing your Sun Salutations 🙂

Padma Sadhana – its importance


I’ve been with yoga – off and on :D:D for various reasons… sometimes for health benefits, sometimes for tranquility.
Yoga means a beautiful “Yog” or “union” of mind, body and soul.
There are various padvatis or forms or paddhatis of yoga giving various benefits and experiences (Hatha Yoga, Vinyasa Yoga etc), and would like to highlight the importance of Padmasadhna here.

Padma Sadhana is a sequence of yoga asanas specially designed by Sri Sri Ravi Shankar for the DSN (Divya Samaj Nirman) Course. Padma means lotus and Sadhana means effort.

In the Agama tradition, it is said that the Devi (Goddess) sits on a 5 layered seat or asana. The base of this seat is a tortoise, which represents stability. The second layer is the snake, which represents awareness. Above the snake sits the lion, it symbolizes grace. Above the lion sits the Siddha, The Perfect Sage. And above the perfect sage sits the lotus, the symbol of full blossoming.
When our asanas have all these 5 qualities – Stability, Awareness, Grace, Perfection and Full blossoming, then the divinity dawns in us and that is Padma Sadhana.

Padma Sadhana refers to the blossoming of the mind, body and soul through the practice of these asanas. It releases many optimum hormones in the blood stream and induces tranquility and harmony, improving one’s alertness, dynamism, courage and commitment.

Doing Padmasadhana before Sudarshan Kriya deepens our experience and takes us deeper in meditation. It helps in centering our mind and consciousness.

Make Padmasadhana a daily part of your morning and evening practice.